What are the various models of the Ford Bronco?

The Ford Bronco is a model line of SUVs manufactured and marketed by Ford. This is the 1st sport utility vehicle developed by the company, and from the 1966 to 1996 model, five generations of the Bronco were sold. The nameplate has been used on other Ford SUVs, Ford Bronco Sport compact SUV and Ford Bronco II (984-1990). It was developed as a compact off-road vehicle using its chassis. The competitors were Jeep CJ-5 and International Harvester Scout. 

Ford enlarged the Bronco for 1978, making it a short-wheelbase version of the F-Series pickup truck. The competitors were Chevrolet K5 Blazer and Dodge Ramcharger. After 1996, Ford discontinued the Bronco after a decline in demand for large two-door SUVs.

Models of Ford Bronco –

First Generation – In the early 1960s the idea behind the Bronco began with Donald N. Frey ( product manager), engineered by Paul G. Axelrad (engineer), with Lee Iacocca approving the final model for production in February 1964. In 1963, 1st clay model of this generation was built. It released in 1966 and was developed as an off-road vehicle. Competitors were Toyota Land Cruiser, Jeep CJ-5, International Harvester Scout.

Second Generation– It released in 1978. Competitors were Jeep Cherokee, Chevrolet K5 Blazer, Dodge Ramcharger. The Bronco entered the full-size SUV segment. This generation adopted from the Ford F-Series, becoming a shortened version of the F-100 4×4.

Third Generation – It released in 1980 was designed to adopt a more efficient powertrain while retaining its full-size dimensions. Ford Bronco II released in 1982 and was a compact SUV based on a shortened Ranger pickup truck and sized.

Fourth Generation – It released in 1987 and was designed as a short-wheelbase version of the eight-generation of Ford F 150. This generation was given many updates to both the exterior and interior. The features include composite headlamps, a reshaped front bumper, reshaped hood, and flatter front grille. 

Fifth Generation – It released in 1992 and followed the design development of ninth-generation Ford F-150. Features include the front fascia adopted additional aerodynamic revisions, larger grille, headlight units, and front bumper, and the front fascia was given a slightly rounded design.

Sixth Generation – This model line is an upcoming vehicle to be sold in 2021 after 25 years, is a mid-size SUV. Now it will compete with Jeep Wrangler as both a two-door and a four-door convertible. It will be manufactured in Michigan Truck Plant in Wayne, Michigan.

About the author

Chris Andrew

Chris Andrew

Chris is senior mobile editor and moonlights as a professional moment ruiner. His early years were spent taking apart Sega consoles and writing awful fan fiction. That passion for electronics and words would eventually lead him to covering startups of all stripes. The first phone he ever swooned over was the Nokia 7610, because man, those curves.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment